Kimsey Law Firm, P.A.
Personal injury, motor vehicle accident injuries,ERISA and disability help for the Tampa Bay area.

Recovering lost wages after a car accident in Florida

On Behalf of | May 13, 2022 | Auto Accidents

Severe injuries suffered in a car crash can leave you unable to work. Without a source of income, you may be financially stretched and unable to pay your bills. Foreclosures and repossessions may be a real possibility depending on how long you are out of work.

However, it is not all doom and gloom. It is possible to recover lost wages and other damages following a car accident.

Proving lost wages

To claim lost wages, you need medical evidence that shows your inability to work. A doctor’s statement that details the extent of your injuries and how long it might take for you to get back on your feet should do. You will also need copies of your recent paychecks and other work-related information. A letter from your employer will come in handy here. If you are self-employed, you need to provide the relevant financial information to prove your loss of income.

The amount of lost wages you claim will be what you would have earned within the period your injuries prevented you from working. This includes any bonuses, commissions and overtime pay where applicable.

How much can you recover?

Under Florida law, every driver is supposed to carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage of $10,000 for medical bills, death benefits and lost wages. Filing a PIP claim should be your first step in recovering lost wages. Remember, you need to file the claim within 14 days of the accident.

Under PIP coverage, you can recover up to sixty percent of your lost wages. However, if your injuries were quite severe and these expenses exceed $10,000, you may need to explore other legal avenues of obtaining compensation.

It can get complicated. Given the urgency of your situation, it is advisable to seek legal guidance to help you get the compensation you need and deserve.